Day 22: Feeling Rested

One of my favorite quotes, especially for a Monday.

Hello, Monday.

Today I am feeling pretty good, almost totally void of muscle aches for the first time in 3 weeks. And you know what? I kind of miss them!

The BF and I are planning on getting back on the wagon full-force tonight, although due to technical problems with our gym’s website may end up having to wait until tomorrow morning if we can’t get signed up for tonight’s WOD before it fills up. I am not exactly thrilled about the idea of having to wake up at 5:30AM to scarf down a banana and go ruin myself before the day even starts – not to mention what that would mean about how I would look/smell at work the rest of the day since there wouldn’t really be time to go home and shower in-between. So, let’s hope it doesn’t come to that.

It’s kind of crazy that I actually missed Crossfit these past few days. My muscles are proud of me for taking it easy, but I have a serious itch to get back in the gym tonight. I definitely did not feel this way after a weekend of taking it easy from a running routine, or after a few days off from Jillian Michaels. The words “can’t wait” have even crossed my mind. I am actually EXCITED to get out there and destroy myself. What?

Be still my red rock loving heart. My view for this upcoming weekend.

I am also super excited because this coming weekend the BF and I are heading to Utah to spend 3 days on the good ol’ Colorado River with friends from the past 2 summers (which we spent living in Moab). The section we are doing is all flatwater (no rapids), but I am so excited to get back out and spend some much-needed river time with some of my favorite people. The rafting company I used to work for is called Splore, and they do trips for people of all abilities, which means that I spent a summer and a half meeting some very incredible people who had been through some very serious shit. From at-risk youth living in residential treatment centers, to Vietnam vets, to adults with traumatic injuries, autism, or progressive diseases, the people I met and had the privilege to take down the river are another constant source of inspiration for me to push myself physically and appreciate everything that I am able to do.

When you meet someone who goes through more in a single day than you have been through in your entire life – when every small task is a major endeavor yet they don’t shy away from adventures like camping and rafting, which are scary even to people who don’t have disabilities – it really changes your perspective on what’s important and what it means to live a full life (if you are interested in reading more about my experiences on the river, you can check out some posts on my other blog here and here). This upcoming weekend will just be a trip with past and future guides from Splore, but it will be great to be back in that community, even if just for a few short days.

Between my rested muscles, my rafting trip coming up, and all of my past rafting experiences on my mind, hopefully that will give me some extra fuel to really push myself tonight.

PS, I have really been loving all of the comments I’ve been getting from everyone of encouragement and sharing your own stories of killing it and/or falling on your face during Crossfit 🙂 Keep ’em coming! Today, let me know what secret fuel you have to inspire you through the last few minutes of your WOD?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 22: Feeling Rested

  1. Kyle says:

    I too crave going to CrossFit. I used to find every excuse I could not to go workout but I oddly find myself missing CrossFit. Today I was tired, no more like exhausted, and was getting a headache and I still wanted to go. I’m so glad I did! I’m not sure what secret fuel I have that gets me through each workout. Maybe it’s the desire to look good, or maybe because I’m starting to see some results so I know the more I do the better the results, maybe it’s just the idea that if I complete the workout I’ll be amazed that I could it! It’s not always easy but I just keep putting one foot in front of another! Hope you enjoy your weekend!!

    • Ha, I know. Halfway through my WOD tonight I started laughing, thinking, “Really? I missed THIS?” But yet I am already looking forward to Wednesday night. Kind of insane. Thanks for commenting, I hope you keep checking in!

  2. Thomas Cox says:

    Love reading your posts.

Leave a Reply

