Day 20: Food Journal

Still trying out this Paleo thing. Not quite committed 100%, but I will definitely say that my grain intake has very dramatically decreased, and I haven’t added shredded cheese on top of anything in weeks. Also, I haven’t had mac & cheese in about 10 days, which might be a new personal record for me. I haven’t noticed a big change in my energy or any change in my weight yet, but my system does feel a little more balanced. Frankly right now it’s hard to make any blanket statements about my health and wellness because I am suffering so much from allergies these past few weeks that I could be sprinkled with pixie dust and still not notice a difference from behind my scratchy eyes and runny nose. I think that if I was a super hero, my arch nemesis would be called The Pollinator. And I would be Captain Mucous Membrane. And I would be losing.

Wednesday

Breakfast: 1 scrambled egg with salt

Lunch: About 1/3 of a salad with spring mix, sundried tomatoes, pears, and goat cheese. I ordered this at the salad place near my office, thinking, “Ooh, sundried tomatoes, I never get those!” and was all excited until I took a bite and remembered that I never get them because I can’t stand them.

Pre-workout Snack: A few handfuls of cashews

Post-workout Snack: Protein shake with chocolate whey powder, a banana, some peanut butter, and almond milk.

Dinner: Sriracha roasted chicken. The marinade is made with plain yogurt (I used Greek yogurt, not Paleo but at least high in protein), sriracha, rosemary, lemon, and garlic. SO good. No side dishes, I was pretty full from my protein shake still.

Thursday

Breakfast: 1 scrambled egg with salt

Lunch: Leftover chicken with leftover sour & sweet veggies from Tuesday night’s Thai takeout. Notice I started this food journal on Wednesday… it’s because Tuesday was an atrocious (but delicious!) showing of Thai takeout and fried fish tacos.

Dinner: 2 small piece of woodfire margherita pizza and 1 beer. So good.

Friday

Breakfast: 1 scrambled egg with salt, kale smoothie with frozen strawberries and pineapple juice

Lunch: Lamb burger (sans bun) with some kind of delicious tomato-garlic aolio stuff, and sweet potato fries

Snack: A handful of pita chips

Dinner: 1/2 grilled chicken breast, some delicious green-beans-in-tomat0-sauce thing that my friend’s Mom made (you may recall that we went to send-off for my friend who is walking across Rwanda), 3 bite-size brownies

Saturday (so far)

Breakfast: Egg scramble with sweet potatoes, kale, and red pepper

Snack: Kale smoothie with frozen strawberries and pineapple juice

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

