Day 10: Pull Ups, Push Ups, Sit Ups, Squats

Last night’s workout: 25 pull-ups (with the assistance of 2, OK maybe 3 resistance bands), 45 push ups (knees on the ground, lots of peeling of the body), 65 sit ups (these were OK), and 85 squats (pain). Today my shoulders are destroyed and my quads are shaky. And I’m told that these are still modified workouts, that “aren’t as hard” as normal WODs. Oh really.

Thursday is our last Elements class, and our first “Hero” workout. I don’t know what that means, but it sounds really scary. I have to keep reminding myself that even though Crossfit is about pushing yourself to your limits, and if there is a WOD that you just can’t complete without resting between each rep, well then you rest between each rep. Between the 3 other people in my Elements class (boyfriend, a 34-year old woman who is literally about 95 lbs. and apparently quite the kickball enthusiast, and a 41-year old mom of -I think 2 kids?- with a Crossfitting husband and a background in yoga), I have yet to finish anything except dead last. And it is a little embarrassing to always finish last. Walking into the gym I’m not just thinking, “I wonder how much this is going to hurt this time,” but also, “I wonder how far behind I’ll finish – How many seconds or minutes will everyone else spend standing there watching me struggle through the workout that they just smoked?” Not only am I struggling with finishing those last squats or thrusters or push-ups, but also with the feeling of being the weakest and the slowest.

I know that Crossfit is all about modifying workouts to a point your body can handle – and therefore is really about nothing but your own performance. And I will be the first to tell you that I am not a very competitive person. And in some ways I tell myself that I am also working the hardest. I am certainly working the longest, and that extra mental torment that fills the last 30-90 seconds of my workout means that I have that much more to push through.

A quick update about Paleo. It’s going pretty well. Of my past 5 meals, 4 have been totally Paleo… And that box of mac & cheese after a snowy day and a tough WOD was totally worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 10: Pull Ups, Push Ups, Sit Ups, Squats

  1. Kristy says:

    I feel your pain… Our CF box had a nutrition challenge and I am on week 7 of 8 doing a Zone/Paleo meal plan. I have definately lost weight, more inches than anything but the main improvement is not feeling like I want to puke after working out. I have also go so many compliments on my skin improving, maybe its all the extra water I have been drinking. Keep it up, my body is better know than before I had my kids (who are 1 and 3)…

    • Jodi says:

      I feel your pain as well… Im on week two of crossfit. Im finishing last in most of the workouts as well. Hoping that it will only get better! šŸ™‚ I’m thinking about getting started on the Paleo diet. I think I would really have to be deticated in order to complete the diet. How much meal planning do you do in order to complete the paleo meal plan on a daily basis?

      • Hey Jodi,
        This is my first week really trying Paleo, but I bought a Paleo cookbook that was divided into meal types (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Snacks) and then just used what I knew about Paleo and crafted a 3-day menu from that. I generally go grocery shopping about twice a week, so it was easy for me to start by just planning a few days so that I could see how it went and tweak some things for the 2nd grocery store round. I think once I get the hang of it I will be able to plan a full week at once, maybe just stopping to buy a few fresh veggies mid-week.

  2. Shanny says:

    You may be finished last against a group of other people but you’re finished first with yourself. That might sound corny…..but you’re finishing!

    Winners finish…..there’s no caveat about how long it takes!

  3. Hey, just keep reminding yourself that you are actually doing this and finishing it! I am still too intimidated to try it! Also, the Hero workouts, which my friend tries to get me to do, are dedicated to fallen soldiers, firefighters, police officers. For the week of Veterans Day he did a Hero workout everyday and tried to get me to do the same, even throwing in the old guilt trip by saying oh your dad is in the military! do it for him! HAH! Nice try! Too scared!

  4. Jennifer R. from Georgia says:

    I felt the exact same way that you do when I did crossfit. I was dead last every time. I’m glad I’m wasn’t the only one to feel that way. (And I had finished a marathon, 3 half marathons and a sprint distance triathlon.) One particularly tough day, the place had to stay open and wait for me to finish the WOD. I empathize. Keep on keepin’ on and stay tough. There are no wimps in Crossfit.

  5. Kyle says:

    Keep up the great work! You did more than the people who aren’t showing up or just at home on the couch. I’m getting my tail kicked everytime too. I’m not always finishing last but have plenty of times! Oh, and my knees are constantly bruised due to using my knees on every push up. I’m looking forward to the day when I can do one real push up. I haven’t done Paleo diet. I’ll be excited to see how that works for you!

  6. Pingback: The kids last day of school was today …now it’s really on! | TheShowMeCajun

  7. I would say like to say a couple of things. First of all, you are beating everyone that is sitting on the couch. Second, you are pushing yourself to be a better version of you. Keep up the good work! Check out the Crossfit Journal site and take a look at Killing the Fat Man series if you haven’t seen them already. He was finishing last for a while, and now the guy is starting to kill it.

    • I haven’t heard of Killing the Fat Man but I will definitely check it out! Thanks! I definitely feel like even in the past few weeks I have started getting a lot better – I even beat my boyfriend in a WOD last weekend šŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: How I earn all those chocolate goodies :) « Following Myself

Leave a Reply

